Trebinje

16/10/2016

Located in southeastern Herzegovina, Trebinje was a super quick stop en route to Kotor in Montenegro. Mother Nature wasn’t on my side. It was raining heavily most of the time; and while there were fleeting moments of sunshine and blue skies, the rain pretty much kept me indoors.

DSC00398

The “river beach”.

DSC00412

IMG_0791

Hercegovačka Gračanica.

DSC00403

DSC00406

View from the monastery.

It took approximately 30 minutes to walk up to the Serbian Orthodox monastery, Hercegovačka Gračanica. Halfway up, dark clouds began to roll in over the surrounding mountains. Within a few minutes of my arriving to the top, it was bucketing down. Thankfully, I’d taken my umbrella out with me. It kept my head and shoulders dry, for the most part. But by the time I returned to the hostel, my shoes and pants were sopping wet. It didn’t help that I needed to wade through a few big puddles on my way back.

While Trebinje was only a brief stop, I appreciated having some real down time. It would’ve been nice to have had a few extra days, because the weather picked up the day I was leaving (typical!), and I would’ve liked to hike up to a few of the fortresses that sit high up on the mountains surrounding the city.

Next time perhaps?!

Leave a Reply

